Comment lire un accord de Ukulele ?

Il y a de nombreuses façon de transcrire des accords en partitions

Diagrammes des accords

Un diagramme d'accords est une façon schématisée de transcrire un accord.

Voici un exemple de ce que peut donner un diagramme d'accord classique :

Exemple de diagramme d'accords du Ukulele

Comme vous pouvez le voir, un diagramme d'accord consiste en 4-6 lignes horizontales (cela peut varier selon la position des notes nécessaires pour jouer un accord sur le manche), et 4 lignes verticales.
Les lignes verticales représentent les quatres cordes du Ukulele (De la gauche vers la droite : Sol, Do, Mi, La), et les lignes horizontales sont les frettes. La ligne du haut est un écrou (fret #0), exept if there's a number on the right side of the diagram (then the starting fret depends on this number).

Les points indiquent où placer vos doigts afin de jouer un accord; chaque point correspond à une note. Parfois les nombres indiquent aussi quel doigt utiliser (sur ukulele-chords.com, C'est écrit dans les digrammes suivants): 1 (index), 2 (majeur), 3 (annulaire) and 4 (auriculaire).

D'autres symboles peuvent aussi être trouvés juste en dessous du nom de l'accord : un cercle ("O") pour un accord joué de manière ouverte, une croix ("X") lorsqu'une corde de doit pas être jouée.

Les accords sur les partitions

Vous pouvez aussi trouver des accords dans des partitions, ou les transcrire sous forme de partitions. Dans ce cas, vous trouverez les symboles mentionnés plus haut, mais les cordes ne sont plus à la verticale mais à l'horizontale (La, Mi, Do, Sol du haut vers le bas. Un accord est composé d'une série verticale de nombre, comme ceci :

Les accords dans une partition

Notation alternative

La troisième façon de transcrire un accord est par une série de 4 chiffre (un par note, avec "0" pour une corde ouverte, et "x"\ quand il ne faut pas jouer une corde). Concernant les diagrammes, nous transcrivons l'accord de la gauche vers la droite (ou du bas vers le haut, pour une parition).

Voici comment écrire un accord en Sol :
Sol : 0232

Cela n'arrive pas souvent ( principalement car les frettes des ukulele sont trop petites pour jouer des accords qui commencent par la dixième frette, mais nous utilisons des virgules ou des espaces afin de transcrire un accord qui à au moins une note (ou plus) jouée sur la dixième frette ou plus. (ex. La : 9 9 9 12 ou La : 9,9,9,12).

Quelques choses importantes à garder en tête à propos des accords

  • From a musical point of view, a chord is composed of ​at least three different notes played together.
  • One single chord exists in lots of different positions.
  • There are different fingerings possible for the same position (it mainly varies according to the context).
  • A chord composed of notes played on open strings belongs to the category of "open" chords.
  • There is virtually an infinite number of chords.

© 2011-2019 Ukulele-chords.com

How to read a ukulele chord?

Advertisement

There are many ways to transcribe a chord in written music

Chord diagrams

A chord diagram is a schematic way to transcribe a chord.

Here is an example of what a classic chord diagram looks like:

Ukulele chord diagram example

As you can see, a chord diagram consists of 4-6 horizontal lines (it can vary depending on the position of the notes needed in order to play the chord on the fretboard), and 4 vertical lines.
Vertical lines represent the four strings of the ukulele (From left to right: G-string, C-string, E-string, A-string), and horizontal lines are the frets. Top line is the nut (fret #0), exept if there's a number on the right side of the diagram (then the starting fret depends on this number).

The dots show where to put your fingers to play the chord; each dot corresponds to a note. Sometimes the numbers also indicate which finger to use (on ukulele-chords.com, it's written below the diagram): 1 (index), 2 (medium finger), 3 (ring finger) and 4 (little finger).

Other symbols can also be found just below the chord name: a circle ("O") for a string played open, and a cross ("X") when a string should not be played.

Chords on Tablatures

You can also find chords in tabs, or transcribe them in the form of a tablature. In this case, you'll find the figures mentioned above, but the strings are no longer presented vertically but horizontally (A-string, E-string, C-string, G-string from top to bottom). A chord is made of a vertical series of numbers, like this:

Chord in tab

Alternative notation

The third and last way to transcribe a uke chord is as a series of 4 numbers (one per note, with "0"'s for open strings, and "x"'s when you must not play a string). As for a diagram, we transcribe the chord from left to right (or bottom to top, if you compare to a tab).

Again, here is how to write a G chord:
G : 0232

It doesn't happen very often (mainly because frets are too tiny to play chords on a ukulele starting from 10th fret), but we use commas or white space to transcribe a chord that has at least one note (or more) played on 10th fret and higher. (ie. A : 9 9 9 12 or A : 9,9,9,12).

Important things to remember about chords

  • From a musical point of view, a chord is composed of ‚Äčat least three different notes played together.
  • One single chord exists in lots of different positions.
  • There are different fingerings possible for the same position (it mainly varies according to the context).
  • A chord composed of notes played on open strings belongs to the category of "open" chords.
  • There is virtually an infinite number of chords.

© 2011-2017 Ukulele-chords.com